How Sweet It Is (2020)

About the Book

BookHow Sweet It Is

Author: Robin Lee Hatcher

Series: Legacy of Faith, book 3

Release Date: July 14, 2020

Genre: Contemporary Romance, Historical Romance

He lost his brother. She lost her dream. Together, they might find what they’re really looking for.

Holly Stanford is doing the best she can with the restaurant she inherited from her late uncle. But after her fiancé abandons her and the business, Holly regrets having given up her dream of becoming a pastry chef. Now a few bad financial decisions might cost her everything, including her hope for the future.

Jed Henning has done well with his new company despite his prodigal brother’s behavior. When Jed‘s father , the controlling member of the board of directors, temporarily suspends operations until his sons work out their differences, Jed resentfully chases his brother, Chris, to Boise. There Jed rents a basement apartment from Holly and hopes to convince Chris to get his act together before their company collapses.

Unaware that Holly is the one person who can help him get through to Chris, Jed starts the tough work of reconciliation armed with little more than a few family photographs, a stack of old letters, and a Bible that belonged to his great-grandfather, Andrew Henning. And as romance blossoms between Holly and Jed, the story of Jed’s great-grandfather highlights the power of God across the generations and the legacy of a family’s courageous faith.

Click HERE to purchase your copy!

My Thoughts

How Sweet It Is by Robin Lee Hatcher is a superb conclusion to what has been one of my favorite Hatcher series. I found the storyline compelling, and it, too, is a book I just could not put down. I enjoyed Holly and Jed’s journey to romance. I found their friendship-to-romance relationship very realistic especially considering the issues that Holly has to overcome. I was so excited to get back to Andrew and Helen Henning’s romance. In book three, we get the conclusion to their great love story, and what an exceptional ending it is! How Sweet It Is really pulled at my heartstrings. I chuckled a little and cried quite a bit. Overall, How Sweet It Is is a wonderful Inspirational Romance that will stick with me long after the final page has been read.

Holly Stanford is a woman who has A LOT on her plate. She deals with residual negative feelings and insecurities from her fiance leaving her. She deals with her failing restaurant business. She deals with her house that needs serious repairs and upgrades. She deals with a near-empty bank account. Holly is running on empty fumes and has very little left to give! In order to protect her heart from the world and men, Holly has built a solid steel wall around it and has decided that from now on she will shoulder every burden that comes her way alone. I have to admit that Holly is so well-written, I was exhausted for her! I may have internally screamed at her to take a break. LOL! What broke my heart the most about Holly is how much of her I see in myself. I, too, take on EVERYTHING. Yes, a lot of this stems from feeling too much and experiencing a ton of hurt and building metaphorical walls around my heart just as Holly does. Like Holly I kick everyone out and do my best to do everything I can perfectly, but in the end I take on too much and I burn out and I blow up. There is a moment in the story where Holly takes a day off from her life and I burst into tears. I’ve never felt so relieved for a fictional character before. But, honestly, Holly’s story was super good for me to read. I needed the reminder that I cannot do everything on my own. I have to trust and I have to ask for help because if I don’t the only person who will be hurt at the end of the day will be myself.

There is just too much goodness in How Sweet It Is and the Legacy of Faith series for any one review to do them justice. I highly, highly recommend this book and its series. If you love well-written, unique, and endearing Inspirational, dual-timeline Romances then How Sweet It Is and the Legacy of Faith series are the books you need to read now!

A Recommendation — While each novel in this series can be read as standalone, I HIGHLY recommend reading these books in sequential order. In my honest opinion, the best part of this series is Andrew’s and Helen’s 40-year romance. But, it is told in three parts spanning the three different books in this series. If you read out of order, you will understand the piece of their relationship as it relates to the book you are reading, but you will miss out on the nuances and the history that comes from reading the story as a whole in three parts.

I received a copy of this novel in eBook form from the publisher, Thomas Nelson, via NetGalley in order to review. In no way has this influenced my review. The opinions expressed in this review are my own.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.